International Cooperation

Following globalisation and the opening up of national markets for foreign companies, anticompetitive cross-border activities become more and more frequent. However, competition authorities are still nationally organised. In order to prosecute anticompetitive cross-border activities efficiently, international cooperation between competition authorities is increasingly important.

The Competition Commission (COMCO) actively participates in different networks of competition authorities such as the Competition Committee of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) or the International Competition Network (ICN). Due to the lack of a legal basis, these networks essentially focus on the exchange of knowledge and experience, but do not allow formal cooperation.

Moreover, bilateral and multilateral cooperation agreements between competition authorities are ever more important. On 1 December 2014, the agreement between the Swiss Confederation and the European Union concerning cooperation on the application of their competition laws (CC 0.251.268.1) entered into force. The agreement enables the COMCO and the Directorate-General for Competition of the European Commission to notify and coordinate enforcement activities and to exchange information. It also contains clear rules concerning compliance with the existing procedural guarantees of the concerned parties. Considering the degree of integration of the Swiss and the European economies, the agreement will lead to an efficient prosecution of anticompetitive cross-border activities and therefore to a better protection of competition (see also dispatch on the Agreement Switzerland-EU concerning cooperation on the application of their competition laws).

 

Specialist staff
Last modification 16.02.2015

Top of page

https://www.weko.admin.ch/content/weko/en/home/themen/internationale-zusammenarbeit.html

Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Infolge der Globalisierung und Öffnung der nationalen Märkte für ausländische Unternehmen kommt es immer häufiger zu grenzüberschreitenden wettbewerbswidrigen Verhaltensweisen. Die Wettbewerbsbehörden sind jedoch weiterhin national organisiert. Um die grenzüberschreitenden wettbewerbswidrigen Verhaltensweisen effizient verfolgen zu können, wird die internationale Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Wettbewerbsbehörden immer wichtiger. 

Die Wettbewerbskommission (WEKO) beteiligt sich aktiv in verschiedenen Netzwerken von Wettbewerbsbehörden wie beispielsweise dem Competition Committee der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) oder dem International Competition Network (ICN). Mangels einer formell gesetzlichen Grundlage dienen diese Netzwerke in erster Linie dem Wissens- und Erfahrungsaustausch, ermöglichen aber keine formelle Zusammenarbeit.

Darüber hinaus gewinnen multi- und bilaterale Kooperationsabkommen zwischen Wettbewerbsbehörden stetig an Bedeutung. Am 1. Dezember 2014 trat das Abkommen zwischen der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft und der Europäischen Union (EU) über die Zusammenarbeit bei der Anwendung ihres Wettbewerbsrechts (SR 0.251.268.1) in Kraft. Das Abkommen gibt der WEKO und der Generaldirektion Wettbewerb der Europäischen Kommission die Möglichkeit, sich gegenseitig über Vollzugsmassnahmen zu benachrichtigen, diese zu koordinieren und Informationen auszutauschen. Gleichzeitig enthält es klare Regeln zur Einhaltung der bestehenden Verfahrensgarantien für die betroffenen Unternehmen. In Anbetracht der starken Verflechtung zwischen den Volkswirtschaften der Schweiz und der EU leistet das Abkommen einen wichtigen Beitrag zur effizienten Verfolgung von grenzüberschreitenden wettbewerbswidrigen Verhaltensweisen und somit zu einem besseren Schutz des Wettbewerbs (vgl. auch Botschaft zum Abkommen Schweiz - EU über die Zusammenarbeit bei der Anwendung ihres Wettbewerbsrechts).

Fachkontakt
Letzte Änderung 16.02.2015

Zum Seitenanfang

https://www.weko.admin.ch/content/weko/de/home/themen/internationale-zusammenarbeit.html